Oct 15, 2021 Last Updated 5:05 PM, Oct 7, 2021

The Minister of Finance & the Public Service

The Hon. Nigel Clarke, DPhil., MP, is Jamaica's Minister of Finance and the Public Service and is Member of Parliament for St Andrew Northwestern. ...

Financial Secretary

Ms. Darlene Morrison is currently Jamaica’s Financial Secretary. As Financial Secretary, Ms. Morrison is the technical and administrative head of the Ministry of Finance and the Pu...

State Minister in the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service

The Hon. Marsha Smith, MP was born and raised in the parish of Saint Ann. She was educated at Brown’s Town Primary School, Westwood High School, Brown’s Town Community College, the...

Tax Policy

The Taxation Policy Division is responsible for the development and implementation of tax policies geared at guiding the development and maintenance of an efficient, equitable and effective tax system, consistent with Jamaica’s national objectives and international trade obligation.

The division is responsible for developing and maintaining a tax regime, which provides the required revenue for the financing of government programmes and commitments, encourage saving and investment, and promote equity.

The primary objectives of the Division are:

  • To ensure the tax base is broadened and that equity is maintained;
  • To ensure that Jamaica’s interest in taxation issues is protected regionally and internationally;
  • To ensure that tax legislation is consistent with GOJ’s economic policies and encourages savings and investment;
  • To ensure the effective management of human, financial and technical resources.


To provide and maintain a tax regime which provides the required revenue for financing government's programmes and commitments encouraging savings and investment and promoting social justice. This is achieved by tax measures, which broaden the tax base by creating a system that facilitates voluntary compliance by being efficient simple and fair.