Sep 27, 2021 Last Updated 9:08 AM, Sep 17, 2021

The Minister of Finance & the Public Service

The Hon. Nigel Clarke, DPhil., MP, is Jamaica's Minister of Finance and the Public Service and is Member of Parliament for St Andrew Northwestern. ...

Financial Secretary

Ms. Darlene Morrison is currently Jamaica’s Financial Secretary. As Financial Secretary, Ms. Morrison is the technical and administrative head of the Ministry of Finance and the Pu...

State Minister in the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service

The Hon. Marsha Smith, MP was born and raised in the parish of Saint Ann. She was educated at Brown’s Town Primary School, Westwood High School, Brown’s Town Community College, the...

Public Expenditure - Units and Sections

To achieve its objectives, the Division is divided into six (6) Units namely: -

  1. Production Unit
  2. Social Infrastructure Unit
  3. Machinery of State Unit
  4. Physical Infrastructure Unit
  5. Projects Branch
  6. Cash Management Unit

Production Unit (PU)

The Production Unit seeks to provide the resources to particular MDAs, which stimulate production, as well as promote and protect Jamaica’s interest abroad and improve foreign relations and foreign trade. This Unit is responsible for the budgets of the Ministries of Agriculture and Fisheries; Industry, Investment and Commerce; Tourism; Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade as well as the Forestry Department.

Social Infrastructure Unit (SIU)

The Social Infrastructure Unit focuses on the provision of resources for social infrastructure e.g. health, education and social welfare, to aid in the development of human capital. This Unit is responsible for the budgets of the Ministries of Health; Education; Labour and Social Security and Youth, Sport and Culture..

 Machinery of State Unit (MoSU)

The Machinery of State Unit seeks to allocate resources to meet the nation’s security and justice systems requirements, and the MDAs responsible for the machinery of state. This unit is responsible for the budgets of the Ministries of National Security; Justice and Departments; Finance and the Public Service and Departments; Office of the Prime Minister and Departmetns; Office of the Cabinet and Departments; and the Office of the Prime Minister (Local Government). The Unit also has responsible for the unattached Departments..

 Physical Infrastructure Unit (PIU)

ThePhysical Infrastructure Unit seeks to provide resources to MDAs to enable improvements in the physical infrastructure of the country e.g. roads, public utilities, transportation and housing. This Unit is responsible for the budgets of the Ministries of Transport and Works and the National Works Agency; Energy and Mining and Water and Housing.

 Projects Branch

The Projects Branch is responsible for assisting Ministries in the preparation, analysis and monitoring of capital projects.

 Cash Management Unit (CMU)

The Cash Management Unit has responsibility for managing the resources of government to ensure that cash outflows are kept within the limits of available resources; and that essential services and priority activities receive sufficient funds to maintain operations at appropriate levels. The Unit seeks to ensure that financial resources are allocated in keeping with Government’s priorities and are managed effectively, according to high standards of probity, accountability and transparency.