Jan 20, 2017 Last Updated 5:17 PM, Jan 16, 2017

2016 - 2017 Budget

The Minister presents Government’s expenditure and revenue estimates for parliamentary approval at the start of each financial year (April to March of the following year). They are organized by public service into what is termed Heads of Estimates, and reflect government’s development policies and priorities. The Budget is prepared under the direction of the Financial Secretary.

There are two accounts, the recurrent and capital accounts. The recurrent account represents the cost of maintaining the permanent administrative structure of government. The capital account is the cost of maintaining the national infrastructure, and implementing projects that enhance the country’s ability to pursue growth and development. Each ministry’s estimates are based on a corporate plan whose goals must be in harmony with the overall objectives of Government.

Budget Calendar 2016/2017
Activity  Dates Notes 
 Preparation of Second Supplementary Estimates Monday, March 21 - Wednesday, March 23, 2016   
Printing of Supplementary Estimates Thursday, March 24 - Tuesday, March 29, 2016   
Tabling of Second Supplementary Estimates Tuesday, March 29, 2016  
PAAC, Standing Finance Committee & Debate Wednesday, March 30, 2016  
Prorugation of House Wednesday, March 30, 2016  
Cabinet Retreat Thursday, March 31 - Friday, April 1, 2016 Cabinet considers and approves and Medium Term Macro Economic/Fiscal Policy Framework and Expenditure Budget
Printing of Estimates Thursday, April 7 - Wednesday, April 13, 2016  
Final Cabinet Submission Tuesday, April 12, 2016  
Start of New Parliamentary Thursday, April 14, 2016

Opening of Parliament & Throne Speech

Tabling of Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure(CG & PBs) and supporting documents: Fiscal Policy Paper, Debt Estimates

Approval of Estimates 2016/2017 Thursday, April 14, 2016 - Thursday, April 28, 2016 FPP Review by Auditor General(2 weeks)
  Tuesday, May 3 - Wednesday, May 4, 2016 Standing Finance Committee (SFC)
  Thursday, May 12, 2016 Honourable Minister of Finance & Public Service (HMFPS) Opens Debate of Appropriation Bill
  Tuesday, May 17, 2016 Opposition Spokesperson on Finance(OSF)
  Thurday, May 19, 2016 Leader of the Opposition(LO)
  Tuesday, May 24, 2016 Honourable Prime Minister(HPM)
  Wednesday, May 25, 2016 Honourable Minister of Finance & Public Service (HMFPS) Closes Debate of Appropriation Bill
  Friday, May 27, 2016 Tabled and Discussed in Senate

  • Budget Presentations

    Speeches and presentations to parliament each fiscal year

  • Debt Management Strategies

    The Debt Management Strategy of the Government of Jamaica is an annual publication of the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service that provides information on the Government’s debt management objectives, policies, plans and strategies for the fiscal year and the medium term.

  • Memoranda on the Budget

    The Budget Memorandum provides a summary review of the macroeconomy, the performance of Central Government’s Budget in the immediate past FY as well as the aims/objectives of the new Central Government Budget. It also reviews the activities of the Public Sector Entities and the Selected Projects performance. Debt and Capital Market developments are also provided. Other reviews are provided in Appendices I-IV covering Public Sector Establishment, Public Service Reform, Developments in the Financial Sector and Tax Administration.