Jul 18, 2019 Last Updated 4:41 PM, Jun 18, 2019

The Minister of Finance & the Public Service

The Hon. Nigel Clarke, DPhil., MP, is Jamaica's Minister of Finance and the Public Service and is Member of Parliament for St Andrew Northwestern. ...

Financial Secretary

Miss Darlene Morrison...

Audit Commission

The Government of Jamaica (GOJ) Audit Commission was first established on April 12, 2005 as an independent body charged with the responsibility of ensuring the continued effectiveness of the audit committees by monitoring their performance against the appropriate regulation.

The Commission was enacted as a body corporate with the 2009 amendments to the Financial Administration and Audit (FAA) Act which resulted in the statutory establishment of its functions and authority.  The Commission was reconstituted on July 1, 2011 with six members duly appointed by the Governor General, with the Solicitor General or his designate being an ex officio member.  There are currently thirty-one (31) audit committees under the purview of the Commission.

Accomplishments for 2011/2012
  • During the period February to May 2012, the Audit Commission appointed twenty-one (21) committees in full.  It has also appointed individual members to the other committees which were not operating with their full complement.
  • The Commission hosted a workshop for Audit Committee members on May 31, 2012.  This boasted record attendance from audit committee members and Accounting Officers.
  • The Commission provided ongoing support to established committees.
The Internal Audit Directorate (IAD) of the Min. of Finance & Planning (MoFP) provides administrative support to the Audit Commission.  The IAD is a five member team established within the PXPC Division.